How to open/edit big files on Windows

Filippo Toso
Nov 11, 2021

Sometimes I need to open relatively big text files, something around a couple of gigabytes. Usually, they are SQL dumps I need to edit to import them into the correct database.

Every time I scramble in search for software that allows me to edit those files without crashing or taking an hour only to open them.

After trying free and paid solutions like GigaEdit, UltraEdit, Liquid Studio, 010 Editor, and so on, I tried the Windows version of nano.
I didn’t tough it could handle them so well, but here I am, opening, editing, and saving gargantuan files in seconds and without a hitch.

So now you know it: the easiast tool you can use to edit a 1 Gb text file is a shell software called nano.

You can download the Windows version from this link.

--

--

Filippo Toso

Filippo is a software developer who helps medium businesses automate and optimize their internal processes through AI-powered interactive bots.